direct to content


stepping stones of maritime history


The Eemland was traveling in ballast from Amsterdam via Falmouth to New York. She departed Falmouth on 22 February 1917 in convoy with six other Dutch ships.
The convoy consisted of the ships: Jacatra, Noorderdijk, Eemland, Gaasterland, Bandoeng, Zaandijk and the Menado.
The convoy sailed under safe conduct of the German government. Notwithstanding this guarantee, the convoy was detained on 22 February in the Atlantic Ocean west of Bishop Rock by the German submarine U 21.

Final fate Falmouth convoy
The captain of the Bandung negotiated with the commander of the U 21 Otto Hersing. It did not help. Six of the 7 Dutch ships were sunk. The Eemland was sunk with a blasting charge. The Menado was the only ship that remained afloat, although badly damaged.

All 37 people on board the Eemland came ashore safely. As compensation, the German government awarded a German ship lying in the Dutch East Indies to the shipping company, which entered service in 1920 under the same name.


Built: A. Mc. Millan & Son Ltd., Dumbarton,UK

MasterStuut, L.
Length365.5 feet (111.4 m)
Width51.8 feet (15.8 m)
Draft23.3 feet (7.1 m)
Tonnage3771 ton


  • Stichting Maritiem Historische Databank.
    Eemland ID 1905.
  • Hodder & Stoughton (1917).
    De aanval op de zeven schepen.
    London, New York, Toronto.

Down on 20 May

New in MaSS

Wrecks of Flevoland

Burgzand Noord

13 Provinces