direct to content


stepping stones of maritime history


The naval Battle of the Gabbard, also known as the Second Battle of Nieuwpoort took place on 12-13 June 1653 during the First Anglo-Dutch War near the Gabbard shoal off the coast of Suffolk, England between fleets of the Commonwealth of England and the United Provinces.

The Dutch had 98 ships under Lieutenant-Admiral Maarten Tromp and Vice-admiral Witte de With, divided in five squadrons. On 2 June 1653 the Dutch attacked but were beaten back because the English employed line-of-battle tactics, making the Dutch pay a high price for attempting to board. The Dutch fleet, consisting of lighter ships, was severely damaged and lost two ships.


Red Squadron

Van Division

Triumph, 62 (flagship of Vice-Admiral James Peacock)
Laurel, 48
Bear, 46
Adventure, 40
London, 40
Mary, 37
Heartsease, 36
Hound, 36
Providence, 33
Hannibal, 44 (hired merchantman)
Thomas and William, 36 (hired merchantman)
Anne and Joyce, 34 (hired merchantman)
Centre Division

Resolution, 88 (flagship of Generals-at-Sea George Monck and Richard Deane)
Worcester, 50
Advice, 42
Diamond 42
Marmaduke, 42 (Commanded by Edward Blagg of Plymouth)[1]
Pelican, 40
Sapphire, 38
Mermaid, 26
Martin, 14
Fortune, 10 (fireship)
Fox, 10 (fireship)
Renown, 10 (fireship)
Golden Fleece, 44 (hired merchantman)
Society, 44 (hired merchantman)
Malaga Merchant, 36 (hired merchantman)
Loyalty, 34 (hired merchantman)
Rear Division

Speaker, 56 (flagship of Rear-Admiral Samuel Howett)
Sussex, 46
Tiger, 40
Violet, 40
Sophia, 38
Guinea, 34
Falmouth, 26
Phoenix, 34 (hired merchantman)
Hambro' Merchant, 34 (hired merchantman(Captained by William Pestell)
Four Sisters, 30 (hired merchantman)
White Squadron

Expedition, 32
Assurance, 36
Portsmouth, 38
Centurion, 42
Assistance, 40
Foresight, 42
Ruby, 42
& others

Blue Squadron

Nonsuch, 40
Dragon, 38
President, 40
Amity, 36
Convertine, 44
Kentish, 50
Welcome, 40
& others


Down on 28 November

New in MaSS

Wrecks of Flevoland

Burgzand Noord

13 Provinces