direct to content


stepping stones of maritime history


In 1646 the Dutch were trying to get a foothold on the Filippines. The Dutch equipped a fleet of 18 vessels under Maarten Gerritsz Vries, and divided them into three squadrons: 

In the so called  Battles of La Naval de Manila 5 battles were fought.  In the second  battle 7  Dutch ships were blocking the entrance of the strategic important Strait of San Bernardino. Two Spanish ships were trapped in the bay of Ticao.

When the Dutch decided to withdraw, the two galeons, though inferior in number, attacked. hereby sinking 4 Dutch ships: Visser, Breskens and 2 fire ships.


Type: jacht
Buit: DEIC yard  in Middelburg, 1641
Owner: DEIC Chamber Zeeland

Complement: ca. 45
Master: Couwenburg, Lieven van


Down on 27 May

New in MaSS

Wrecks of Flevoland

Burgzand Noord

13 Provinces